Eight appointed to S4C’s New Media Forum


Eight people have been appointed as members of S4C’s New Media Forum established at a special meeting in Aberystwyth in January.

In its recent report to the Department for Culture, Media and Sport, S4C announced plans to place more emphasis on developing its online provision and to become a more active innovator in New Media. The forum has been created to offer ideas to the channel as it develops its New Media strategy.

The eight appointed are all experienced in the field of New Media. The eight, selected from 21 applicants, are Carl Morris, Iwan Standley, Marc Webber, Rhys Miles Thomas, Llinos Thomas Davies, Rhodri ap Dyfrig, Peter Watkins Hughes and Daniel Glyn.

Dyfrig Jones, a member of the S4C Authority and Chair of the new forum, said, “The time when we can speak of ‘new’ media is fast coming to an end. Interactive technology is part and parcel of the everyday lives of thousands of people by now. The aim of this forum will be to look at how S4C can contribute to the growth of new technology through the medium of Welsh, and to formulate a strategy to guide us through the exciting years ahead.

“We are delighted that so much interest has been shown in the creation of the forum and we’d like to thank everyone who attended the meeting in Aberystwyth and those who applied for membership of the forum. The support and ideas of the eight appointed will be very important to S4C as the Channel moves forward in the field of New Media.”


More news

Press homepage