Cymry Rhyfel Cartre America, a landmark S4C documentary series looking at the American Civil War through the eyes of Welsh soldiers fighting in the conflict, has won the series’ producer, Ifor ap Glyn, BAFTA Cymru’s prestigious Gwyn Alf Williams Award.

The Award, given to the programme or series which contributes most to the understanding and appreciation of the history of Wales, was presented to Ifor, of Caernarfon-based production company Cwmni Da, at Saturday night’s ceremony.

Children’s programme Ofn!, also made by Cwmni Da, won the Best Children’s Programme Award at the ceremony. The new series sees presenters Rhodri Owen and Branwen Gwyn explore haunted houses the length and breadth of Wales.

Popular soap Pobol y Cwm, which celebrated its thirtieth anniversary in 2004, also garnered one of the main prizes of the evening, with Huw Euron, who plays mechanic Darren, winning the Best Actor Award. The series is produced for S4C by BBC Cymru Wales.

S4C’s gripping drama serial Talcen Caled (Ffilmiau’r Nant) won the Best Screenwriter prize for series author Meic Povey, while Nôl i Fangladesh (Fflic), which followed South Wales businessman and Welsh learner Sirajul Islam on an emotional journey to his home village in Bangladesh, won the award for Best Director for Rhodri Davies.

S4C’s Sali Mali website won the award for Best New Media Film or TV Related. Music and chat show Bandit, produced by Boomerang and presented by Sarra Elgan, Huw Evans and Huw Stephens, won the award for Best Graphics/Titles, for design companies Departures/No. Brake.

Coverage of the 2004 National Eisteddfod at Newport won the prize for Best Live Coverage/O.B. Team.

Iona Jones, S4C’s Director of Programmes, says, “These prizes, taken together, are a fitting reflection of S4C’s editorial and visual ambition and the strength of its partnership with the independent sector and the BBC. Congratulations to all involved.”

S4C 2004 BAFTA award winners

Best Children’s Programme
Ofn!, Dylan Huws, Cwmni Da,
Best New Media Film or TV Related
Sali Mali, Simon Griffiths/Rachel Van Koningsveld/Nia Davies, Crumble Creative/S4C
Best Graphics/Titles
Bandit, Departures/No. Brake, Boomerang
Best Live Coverage/O.B. Team
Eisteddfod Genedlaethol Cymru, BBC Cymru
Best Screenwriter
Talcen Caled, Meic Povey, Ffilmiau’r Nant
Best Director
‘Nôl i Fangladesh, Rhodri Davies, Fflic
Best Actor
Pobol y Cwm, Huw Euron, BBC Cymru
Gwyn Alf Williams Award
Cymry Rhyfel Cartre America, Ifor ap Glyn, Cwmni Da