The Saints secure the title

Rhys Llwyd

Rhys Llwyd

Saturday, 14 Mar 2015, 22:46

Congratulations to The New Saints Football Club on winning the Welsh Premier League title for the ninth time in their history.

The Saints hold the record for the most amounts of WPL titles and this is their fourth consecutive league title.

TNS only needed a point on Saturday afternoon but they secured the championship in style by beating Bala Town 3-0 at Park Hall where they haven’t lost since November 2012.

They have clinched the double and are now targeting the treble – a feat they’ve never managed to achieve.

The Saints haven’t lost in any competition so far this season. In 1997/98 Barry Town managed to go through a whole season unbeaten in the league. But Barry lost in the 1998 Welsh Cup semi final against Connah’s Quay that season.

Therefore TNS are on track to set a new record – to go through a Welsh Premier League season unbeaten in all competitions – a record that Craig Harrison will surely be aiming for.