WPL Manager of the Season – The Nominees

Rhys Llwyd

Rhys Llwyd

Thursday, 2 Jun 2016, 23:57

On Saturday 4 June, the Welsh Premier League annual awards night will be held at St David’s Park Hotel at Ewloe, and one of the awards up for grabs is the ‘Manager of the Year’ award.

Here’s a quick look at the three gaffers who have been nominated on the shortlist this year:

Craig Harrison (The New Saints)
Led TNS to their second consecutive domestic treble.
Won the Manager of the Season award last season.
TNS coach, Carl Darlington, won the award the previous three seasons, therefore the TNS management duo are hoping for their fifth win on the trot.

Alan Morgan (MBi Llandudno)
Led Llandudno to 3rd position and qualified for Europe in their first season in the top flight.
Llandudno are the first team since the ‘Super Twelve’ era to reach the top six in their first season after promotion.
Equal with Ton Pentre (3rd – 1993/94) for the highest finish for a promoted side in WPL history.

Andy Morrison (gap Connah’s Quay)
Won the play-offs and led gap Connah’s Quay to Europe for the first time in their history.
Le the Nomads to 4th place – their highest ever finish in the WPL.
When Andy Morrison was appointed manager on 2 November, 2015, the Nomads were 10th in the table.