WPL Season Review


The New Saints enjoyed another successful year as they were crowned WPL champions for the sixth consecutive season, also lifting the League Cup for the third year running.

Bala Town achieved the impossible this season by lifting the Welsh Cup for the first time in their history by bringing The New Saints’ run of 19 consecutive wins in the competition to an end.

Connah’s Quay secured a place in Europe for the second consecutive year after ending the season with their highest ever finish (2nd).

After three years of gloom, Bangor City will return to Europe after winning the play-offs.

Newtown’s Jason Oswell won the Golden Boot for his 22 league goals for the Robins.

TNS broke the world record for most consecutive wins between August-February (31 games).

There were disappointments for Rhyl and Airbus as they finished in the bottom two and will be relegated while Prestatyn and Barry Town will take their place in the top flight next season.