Boxing Day Fixtures


Six WPL fixtures will go ahead on Boxing Day with several clubs looking to seal their place in the top half.

14:00 – Newtown v TNS
14:30 – Barry Town v Cardiff Met
14:30 – Carmarthen v Aberystwyth
14:30 – Cefn Druids v Connah’s Quay
14:30 – Llandudno v Bangor City
14:30 – Prestatyn v Bala Town

For most of the WPL sides, only four games remain until the split and only TNS (1st) have clinched a place in the Top Six.

Mathematically, only Carmarthen (12th) are unable to make the top half, although Prestatyn (11th) would also need a miracle as they are currently 11 points behind 6th placed Cefn Druids.

Bangor City (2nd) and Connah’s Quay (3rd) are only one win away from securing their place in the top six, which would leave three spots remaining.

Cardiff Met (4th) and Bala Town (5th) have games in hand – both clubs are performing well and are expected to stay in the top half come the split on January 13th.

Cefn Druids have been the surprise package in the WPL this season and it would be a great achievement for them if they were to clinch the 6th spot in the top half.

But Huw Griffiths’ side face a tough double-header against the Nomads over the Christmas period and might need points against Carmarthen (away) and Llandudno (home) in their last two fixtures before the split.

Llandudno have slid down to 8th place and will struggle to claw their way back into the top half as they face Bangor City twice over the next coming days before welcoming Bala to Parc Maesdu – but Iwan Williams has insisted that the Seasiders will not give up until they are mathematically out of the race.

Barry Town could burst the Druids’ bubble as they are on a decent run, and with a game in hand, could Gavin Chesterfield’s newcomers reach the top half on their return to the top flight.

Aberystwyth and Newtown will both be looking for wins to take them further away from the relegation zone.

Highlights of all the WPL matches from the festive period will be on Sgorio on New Year’s Day in the build-up to the match between Bangor and Llandudno (kick off at 17:15).

Until then – Nadolig Llawen a Blwyddyn Newydd Dda!