WPL Player of the Year shortlist announced

Rhys Llwyd

Rhys Llwyd

Friday, 12 May 2017, 08:55

Three players have been named on the shortlist for the WPL 2016/17 Player of the Year award.

The winner will be announced in the WPL awards ceremony on the 20th of May.

Jon RoutledgeThe New Saints
A summer signing for The New Saints, the Liverpudlian has been a key element of the champions’ success this season.

Shielding the back four from midfield and initiating attacks from the middle of the park, Routledge’s contribution to TNS’ double-winning, record breaking season cannot be underestimated.

The ex-Wigan Athletic man netted four goals and made six assists in the WPL and was most definitely one of the most consistent performers this season.

Henry JonesBangor City
Its been a great first season for Henry Jones in the WPL as the ex-Swansea youth has shone as the Citizens’ attacking midfielder.

With 14 goals in all competitions, Jones is Bangor’s top scorer in 2016/17, and he can also boast the most assists for his side this season (8).

Henry Jones has also been shortlisted for the Young Player of the Year award along with Anthony Stephens (Bala) and James Joyce (Llandudno).

Jason OswellNewtown
It’s no surprise that Golden Boot winner Jason Oswell has been named on the shortlist following his 22 goal season that saw Newtown reach the play-offs.

The 24-year-old striker also chipped in with five assists in the WPL and will be on a lot of club’s shopping list this summer.

After leading the Robins to the play-offs with his goals, Oswell’s absence was a big loss for Newtown in the play-off semi final, as he had already planned a trip to Uganda.

Recent winners:
2015/16 – Marc Williams (Llandudno)
2014/15 – Chris Venables (Aberystwyth)
2013/14 – Chris Venables (Aberystwyth)
2012/13 – Michael Wilde (The New Saints)
2011/12 – Mark Jones (Bala Town)
2010/11 – Rhys Griffiths (Llanelli)