WPL Manager of the Year shortlist announced


Four managers have been named on the shortlist for the WPL 2016/17 Manager of the Year award.

The winner will be announced in the WPL awards ceremony on the 20th of May.

Craig HarrisonThe New Saints
After completing the double (WPL and League Cup) Craig Harrison is hoping to reclaim the ‘Manager of the Year’ award for the third year running.

The New Saints have been crowned the WPL champions for the sixth consecutive year, and for the 11th time in their history, also breaking the record for the biggest margin between 1st and 2nd in the WPL (27 pts).

TNS broke the world record for most consecutive wins between August-February (31 games), and won the League Cup for the third year on the bounce during that run.

The Oswestry based club could be awarded the accolade for the sixth consecutive year if Harrison wins the honor – Carl Darlington (11/12, 12/13, 13/14), Craig Harrison (14/15, 15/16).

Andy MorrisonConnah’s Quay
Connah’s Quay secured a place in Europe for the second consecutive year after ending the season with their highest ever finish (2nd).

The Nomads boasted the best defensive record in the WPL league despite being dealt a long list of injuries throughout the season.

For finishing in the top two, Connah’s Quay have qualified to compete in the Irn-Bru Challenge Cup next season, as well as the Europa League qualifiers.

Colin CatonBala Town
Bala Town achieved the impossible this season by lifting the Welsh Cup for the first time in their history by bringing The New Saints’ run of 19 consecutive wins in the competition to an end.

It was the Lakesiders’ first ever win against TNS, but it was definitely worth the wait to see the jubilant faces of the players and staff.

Bala Town (3rd) will now compete in Europe for the third consecutive year.

Huw GriffithsCefn Druids
Cefn Druids were one of the favourites to be relegated this season, but instead Huw Griffiths led the club to their highest ever finish in the WPL (8th).

The Ancients have never finished higher than 11th position in the WPL, but with a low budget and a relatively inexperienced squad the Druids managed to finish higher than Llandudno, Aberystwyth, Rhyl and Airbus UK.

Despite the expectation to struggle, Cefn Druids kept 11 clean sheets from 32 league games during the season.

Recent winners:
2015/16 – Craig Harrison (The New Saints)
2014/15 – Craig Harrison (The New Saints)
2013/14 – Carl Darlington (The New Saints)
2012/13 – Carl Darlington (The New Saints)
2011/12 – Carl Darlington (The New Saints)
2010/11 – Neville Powell (Bangor City)
2009/10 – Neville Powell (Bangor City)