Bala Town make history as they win the Welsh Cup

Sion Richards

Sion Richards

Sunday, 30 Apr 2017, 15:15

Colin Caton’s men win the Welsh Cup for the first time in the club’s history as they beat The New Saints 2-1 at Bangor’s Nantporth Stadium.

Jordan Evans and Kieran Smith scored for the Lakesiders after coming from behind to beat The New Saints in the Welsh Cup final.

This was the first time Bala Town had reached the Welsh Cup final – with the victory their first over The New Saints in any competition!

Bala Town will now look forward to competing in the Europa League qualifying rounds as Welsh Cup holders.

The New Saints were hoping of achieving the ‘Treble-treble’, winning all domestic competitions for the last three seasons – but Bala Town hampered Craig Harrison’s team’s chances of the achievement.

In an exciting game Bala Town’s goalkeeper, Ashley Morris produced several fine saves to stop Jon Routledge and Greg Draper – with Malcolm Allen naming the goal keeper his man of the match.

TNS also had to call on their goalkeeper, Paul Harrison to stop Lee Hunt to ensure a goalless first half.

Grag Draper opened the dead-lock scoring within minutes of the restart, lifting TNS’ hopes of lifting the Welsh Cup for the fourth season running.

Substitute Jordan Evans fired past Harrison to equalise and with minutes remaining Chris Venables cross was headed in by Kieran Smith to complete a historic victory for Bala Town.