S4C receives 44 nominations at the 2010 Bafta Cymru Awards


Three captivating S4C films – Ryan a Ronnie, Cwcw and Ar y Tracs – lead the channel’s 2010 Bafta Cymru nominations ahead of the ceremony at the Wales Millennium Centre on Sunday 23 May.

The nominations are among a total of 44 received by S4C for a wide range of productions – including documentaries, light entertainment and music programmes. This year, 55% of all the nominated programmes by Bafta Cymru are Welsh-language productions.

The film Ryan a Ronnie has been nominated for six major awards and leads the S4C charge. The categories include Best Film/Drama, Best Screenwriter and Aled Pugh gets a Best Actor nomination for his portrayal of Ryan Davies.

The daring drama Cwcw, penned by scriptwriter Delyth Jones, is also nominated in the Best Film/Drama category. Actress Eiry Thomas is nominated by Bafta Cymru for Best Actress for her powerful portrayal of Jane Jones. Best Design and Best Original Music Soundtrack are among the other nominations for the drama.

Ar y Tracs, written by Gavin and Stacey star Ruth Jones and author Catrin Dafydd, has bagged a total of four nominations in a wide range of categories.

The films Ar y Tracs and Ryan a Ronnie will go head-to-head in the Best Director: Film/Drama category, with Ar y Tracs director Ed Talfan and Rhys Powys, Ryan a Ronnie director competing for the prize.

Other S4C drama productions figure in the nominations list. Drama series Teulu, which follows the trials and tribulations of a family in Ceredigion, has been nominated in the Best Drama Series category.

Actress Mali Harries, who plays one of the main characters in drama series Caerdydd, is nominated for the Best Actress award, whilst her real-life husband, Matthew Gravelle, who is best-known for his role as Lyn in the gangster drama series Y Pris, is up against Ryland Teifi (Caerdydd) in the Best Actor category.

Drama-documentary Carwyn, a powerful portrayal of one of the world’s most successful rugby coaches, Carwyn James, has received four nominations. Carwyn, a production by Greenbay Media, is nominated in a range of categories, including Best Documentary / Drama Documentary, Best Camera: Not Drama, Best Screenwriter and Best Director.

Another documentary series Dwy Wraig Lloyd George gyda Ffion Hague, which features an insight into the women in Lloyd George’s life, is nominated in three categories. The programme will compete for the Best Documentary / Drama Documentary, Best Camera: Not Drama and Best Director awards.

S4C has received a range of nominations for its musical programmes. Papa Haydn, a P.O.P. 1 production, has been nominated in two categories. Presenter Elin Manahan Thomas has been shortlisted as the Best On-screen Presenter, and the series is nominated in the Best Music Programme. Llŷr yn Carnegie, featuring show-stopping performances by pianist Llŷr Williams is also competing in the Best Music Programme category.

A musical celebration of composer Karl Jenkins’ work, Cyngerdd Dathlu Karl Jenkins, X Factor star Rhydian Roberts’ first televised concert, Cyngerdd Rhydian, and a star studded concert from last year’s National Eisteddfod in Bala, Cyngerdd Sêr y Steddfod, featuring musical numbers from Only Men Aloud, have also received a nomination each.

S4C’s extensive coverage of Eisteddfod Genedlaethol Meirion a’r Cyffiniau, produced by BBC Cymru, has been shortlisted in the Best Coverage of a Live Event category.

S4C also leads the way in the Best Light Entertainment category with three of the channel’s programmes going head-to-head. Tudur Owen o’r Doc, Fferm Ffactor and Dudley - Pryd o Sêr are the three. Comedian Tudur Owen is also given the nod for Best On-Screen Presenter.

A special episode of the current affairs series, Y Byd ar Bedwar, tackling immigration is nominated for a Best News and Current Affairs award. The channel’s current affairs series for young people, Hacio, is shortlisted in the Best Youth Programme category.

One of S4C’s main nursery series, Cei Bach, broadcast on Cyw wins a nod for the Best Children’s Programme.

Three S4C productions, O’r Galon: Canfod Hedd, Y Daith and Ralio+, have also been nominated in the Best Editor, Best Titles and Best Original Music Soundtrack categories respectively.

Rhian Gibson, S4C’s Director of Commissioning, said, “I am very pleased to see so many S4C programmes nominated at this year’s Bafta Cymru. The wide range of programmes in all genres reflects the depth of talent and creativity on the part of television producers throughout Wales.”

BAFTA CYMRU 2010 Nominations - S4C

Best Film / Drama

Cwcw – Delyth Jones / Bethan Eames (Fondue Films)

Ryan a Ronnie - Branwen Cennard / Marc Evans (Boomerang Plus ccc)

Best Drama Series / Serial for Television

Teulu – Rhys Powys / Branwen Cennard (Boomerang Plus ccc)

Best News and Current Affairs

Y Byd ar Bedwar (Mewnfudwyr) – Geraint Evans (ITV Cymru)

Best Documentary / Drama Documentary

Carwyn – Dylan Richards / John Geraint (Greenbay Media)

Dwy Wraig Lloyd George gyda Ffion Hague – Catrin Evans (Tinopolis)

Best Light Entertainment

Dudley – Pryd o Sêr – Dudley Newbery / Garmon Emyr (Rondo Media)

Tudur Owen o’r Doc – Angharad Garlick / Beth Angell (Boomerang Plus ccc)

Fferm Ffactor – Neville Hughes / Non Griffith (Cwmni Da)

Best Music Programme

Llŷr yn Carnegie – Hefin Owen (Rondo Media)

Papa Haydn – Rhian A. Davies (P.O.P. 1)

Best Children’s Programme

Cei Bach – Sian Teifi (Sianco)

Best Youth Programme

Hacio ‘G20’ – Branwen Thomas (ITV Cymru)

Best Director Of Photography: Drama

Y Pris – Steve Lawes (Fiction Factory)

Ryan a Ronnie – Peter Thornton (Boomerang Plus ccc)

Best Camera: Not Drama

Carwyn – Aled Jenkins (Greenbay Media)

Dwy Wraig Lloyd George gyda Ffion Hague – Rhys Edwards (Tinopolis)

Best Sound

Caerdydd – Simon H. Jones / Ray Parker (Fiction Factory)

Ar y Tracs – Gareth Meirion Thomas / Simon H. Jones (Tidy Productions and Green Bay Media)

Best Editor

Ar y Tracs – Mali Evans (Tidy Productions and Green Bay Media)

O’r Galon: Canfod Hedd – Llyr Madog (Cwmni Da)

Best Lighting Director – Not Camera

Cyngerdd Dathlu Karl Jenkins – Martyn Rourke (Rondo Media)

Cyngerdd Sêr y Steddfod – Nigel Catmur (BBC Cymru)

Cyngerdd Rhydian – John Penny Williams (Avanti)

Best Design

Cwcw – Hayden Pearce (Fondue Films)

Best Titles

Y Daith – Roughcollie

Best Costume

Ar y Tracs – Ffion Elinor (Tidy Productions and Green Bay Media)

Best Make-Up

Ryan a Ronnie – Kate Roberts (Boomerang Plus ccc)

Best Coverage of a Live Event

Eisteddfod Genedlaethol Meirion a’r Cyffiniau 2009 – Jonathan Davies (BBC Cymru)

Best Screenwriter

Carwyn – T. James Jones (Greenbay Media)

Ryan a Ronnie – Meic Povey (Boomerang Plus ccc)

Best Original Music Soundtrack

Cwcw – John E. R. Hardy (Fondue Films)

Ralio+ - Chris Lewis (P.O.P. 1)

Best Director: Film / Drama

Ar y Tracs – Ed Talfan (Tidy Productions and Green Bay Media)

Ryan a Ronnie – Rhys Powys (Boomerang Plus ccc)

Best Director

Carwyn – Dylan Richards (Greenbay Media)

Dwy Wraig Lloyd George gyda Ffion Hague – Nia Dryhurst (Tinopolis)

Best Actor

Caerdydd – Ryland Teifi (Fiction Factory)

Y Pris – Matthew Gravelle (Fiction Factory)

Ryan a Ronnie – Aled Pugh (Boomerag Plus ccc)

Best Actress

Caerdydd – Mali Harries (Fiction Factory)

Cwcw – Eiry Thomas (Fondue Films)

Best On-Screen Presenter

Papa Haydn – Elin Manahan Thomas (P.O.P. 1)

Tudur Owen o’r Doc – Tudur Owen (Boomerang Plus ccc)

More news

Press homepage