Remembering Aberfan, a tale of adoption and the film Y Llyfrgell among 26 BAFTA Cymru nominations for S4C


The special commission Cantata Memoria, in memory of Aberfan, is among the list of BAFTA Cymru 2017 nominations for S4C projects.

The list for this year's awards was revealed today, Friday 1 September 2017 with 26 nominations for S4C commissions.

Leading the pack for S4C is Y Llyfrgell (Ffilm Ffolyn) with four nominations including Director: Fiction (Euros Lyn) Actor (Dyfan Dwyfor) Writer (Fflur Dafydd) and Costume Design (Dawn Thomas).

Factual programme Iestyn Garlick: Stori Mabwysiadu (Antena) has been nominated for three awards for Single Documentary, Presenter (Iestyn Garlick) and Factual Director (Arwyn Evans).

The unique premiere performance of Cantata Memoria (Rondo Media), the new choral work by Sir Karl Jenkins and Mererid Hopwood, is nominated in the Entertainment category. The work was commissioned by S4C to commemorate 50 years since the Aberfan disaster, and as a testament to the community's strength and dignity. The commission was a key part of the channel's 2016 schedule, and a cornerstone of the events to mark the anniversary.

Another devastating event which had a long term effect on our society was documented in the programme Hillsborough: Yr Hunllef Hir (Rondo Media) as football fans from Wales remembered the day 96 Liverpool fans were killed in the Hillsborough disaster. This emotional programme has been nominated in the Single Documentary Programme category.

Nominated for best actress is Carys Eleri for her role as the vicar Myfanwy in drama series Parch (Boom Cymru) and Mali Jones for her role as Nia in the drama thriller 35 Diwrnod (Boom Cymru).

Y Salon (Boom Cymru) – the reality series which followed the gossip and chit-chat at hair salons across Wales - has been nominated in the Entertainment Programme category, and family festive film Albi a Noa yn Achub yr Iwnifys (Boom Cymru) is nominated for best Television Film.

Among the many other nominees are a number of children’s programmes - Deian a Loli (Cwmni Da), Llond Ceg (Greenbay) and Teulu Ni (Cwmni Da) - all hoping they will take the stage to accept an award.

Amanda Rees, S4C Creative Content Director has congratulated all the nominees;

Amanda Rees says; “It’s been a productive year at an incredibly high standard and I would like to congratulate all the independent production companies, ITV Cymru and BBC Cymru for their nominations. This is a testament to the varied and exciting content being produced in Wales. I wish everyone all the best at the awards ceremony in October.”

The full list of S4C commissions nominated for a 2017 BAFTA Cymru award:

Actor: Dyfan Dwyfor, Dan yn Y Llyfrgell (Ffilm Ffolyn)

Actress: Carys Eleri, Myfanwy yn Parch (Boom Cymru TV); Mali Jones, Nia yn 35 Diwrnod (Boom Cymru TV)

Children’s Programme: Deian a Loli (Cwmni Da); Llond Ceg (Greenbay); Teulu Ni (Cwmni Da)

Costume Design: Dawn Thomas-Mondo ar gyfer Y Llyfrgell (Ffilm Ffolyn)

Director: Factual: Arwyn Evans ar gyfer Iestyn Garlick: Stori Mabwysiadu (Antena)

Director: Fiction: Euros Lyn ar gyfer Y Llyfrgell (Ffilm Ffolyn)

Entertainment Programme: Cantata Memoria (Rondo); Taith Bryn Terfel: Gwlad y Gan (Boom Cymru); Y Salon (Boom Cymru)

Factual Series: #swn10 (Greenbay); Arfordir Cymru: Bae Ceredigion (Rondo)

Television Film: Albi a Noa yn Achub yr Iwnifyrs (Boom Cymru)

Live Broadcast: Ffeinal Band Cymru 2016 (Rondo)

News and Current Affairs: Cysgod Chernobyl (ITV Cymru)

Original Music: Benjamin Talbott and Victoria Ashfield – Galesa (Joio); John Hardy Music – Y Gwyll (Fiction Factory)

Lighting and Photography: Richard Stoddard – Yr Ymadawiad (Severn Stanley)

Presenter: Iestyn Garlick – Iestyn Garlick: Stori Mabwysiadu (Antena)

Single Documentary: Iestyn Garlick: Stori Mabwysiadu (Antena); Hillsborough: Yr Hunllef Hir (Rondo)

Television Drama: 35 Diwrnod (Boom Cymru); Parch (Boom Cymru)

Author: Fflur Dafydd – Y Llyfrgell (Ffilm Ffolyn)


More news

Press homepage