S4C Authority

The S4C Authority is an independent public body. It is responsible for the provision of Welsh language television programme services. The Authority is accountable for S4C's output and the proper management of the channel.

Key responsibilities of the Authority include:

  • to oversee, approve and scrutinise the proper management of S4C
  • to ensure that S4C provides S4C's television services
  • to operate as a public body
  • to act as a regulator on certain matters
  • to prepare Annual Reports and Accounts.

It is the responsibility of the Chief Executive, officers and staff of S4C to manage and maintain S4C on a day-to-day basis. This responsibility includes providing S4C's television services. The Authority does not participate in day-to-day decisions. In particular, the Authority is not involved in any commissioning or editorial decision. This practice has existed since 1982 and continues to maintain the independence of the Authority. It ensures that it remains at arm's length from decisions made by officers - especially in the case of programme content.

The Authority has a statutory duty to ascertain the state of public opinion concerning programmes broadcast on S4C, any effects of such programmes on the attitudes or behaviour of viewers as well as the types of programmes that members of the public would like to be broadcast on S4C. The Authority is also responsible for ensuring that relevant provisions are in place to enable viewers to complain to S4C about its programming.

The Authority's statutory duties are placed upon it by the Communications Act 2003 and the Broadcasting Acts of 1990 and 1996.

Members of the Authority

Members of the Authority are appointed by the Secretary for State for Culture, Media and Sport following consultation with the Wales Office, Welsh Government and the BBC Trust. Posts on the Authority are advertised publicly and appointments are made following a public appointments procedure.

Huw Jones

Term of appointment: 08.06.11 - 07.06.19

Former singer and Broadcaster , one of the founders of Sain Record Company and the company’s managing director until 1981. Co-founder of Teledu’r Tir Glas, one of the earliest Welsh independent production companies and the facilities company Barcud, which he chaired between 1981 to 1993 . He was S4C’s Chief Executive between 1994 to 2005. He is now Chair of Portmeirion Ltd, Vice-Chair of the Nant Gwrtheyrn Language Learning Centre and a Trustee of the Royal Television Society.

Dr Carol Bell

Term of appointment: 17.09.12 - 16.09.16

Having started in the oil and gas industry, Carol Bell’s career developed in the world of banking with JP Morgan and Chase Manhattan before moving from the city to complete a doctorate in the Archaeology of ancient trade networks in the Eastern Mediterranean in 2000. Since completing her doctorate in 2005 she has developed a range of business and charitable interests and is a board member of a number of companies and organisations.

John Davies

Term of appointment: 01.04.10 - 31.03.18

Councillor John Davies is a farmer and former Leader of Pembrokeshire County Council. He was Leader of the Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA) between 2008 and 2012 and is Chairman of the Royal Welsh Show’s management board. He is a trustee of the High Sheriff’s Trust.

Hugh Hesketh Evans

Term of appointment: 20.11.14 – 19.11.18

Hugh is the Leader of Denbighshire County Council since November 2007, and a member of Llanfair DC and Gwyddelwern Community Council since June 2004. He is also a member of the National Farmers Union (NFU), a member of the Farmers Union of Wales (FUW ) and trustee and Treasurer of a Consolidated Charity

He was awarded the OBE for services to Local Government in the Queen’s Honours List 2012.

Guto Harri

Term of appointment: 9.07.14 – 08.07.18

Guto began his career as a BBC journalist, spending most of it covering UK politics for the Corporation’s main TV and radio outlets.

He presented a number of flagship shows and was Chief Political Correspondent at Westminster before taking two foreign postings to Rome and New York. He left the BBC to handle communications for Boris Johnson and helped mastermind his re-election as Mayor of London in May 2012. He is currently Director of Communications at News UK.

Marian Wyn Jones

Term of appointment: 08.11.12 - 07.11.16

Marian Head of the BBC’s centre in North Wales for fifteen years . She is an experienced journalist who has worked on a wide range of television and radio programmes in Wales and on the BBC network . She now works as a media consultant and has a range of business interests and charitable interests. She is a Non Executive Director Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board , a member of Snowdonia National Park Authority and the Arts Council of Wales, Bangor University Council member , a director of the Canolfan Gerdd William Mathias and a trustee of the Kyffin Williams Trust.

Siân Lewis

Term of appointment: 9.07.14 – 08.07.18

Sian is Chief Executive of Menter Iaith Caerdydd , and a member of several Boards and partnership groups within local authorities and the Welsh Government.

Elan Closs Stephens

Term of appointment: 12.07.12-31.10.18

Elan is a member of the S4C Authority by virtue of her position as the BBC’s National Trustee for Wales.

She is Emeritus Professor at Aberystwyth University . She has provided strategic leadership to cultural bodies such as Chair of the S4C Authority (1998-2006), Governor of the BFI (2001-2007) and as Chair of the Report on the Arts in Wales (Stephens Report 2006) for the Welsh Assembly Government. She remains on the Board of the Imax Waterloo on behalf of the BFI.

She is a Non-Executive Director of the Welsh Government’s Permanent Secretary Board.

Elan was born in the Nantlle Valley, Gwynedd , and was educated at Somerville College , Oxford . In 2001 , she was awarded a CBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours for services to broadcasting the Welsh language.