One and twenty choirs compete for 2013 title


The shortlist for the Côr Cymru 2013 choir competition has been announced, with twenty one choirs going on to compete in the semi finals in February 2013.

The competition is held in the Aberystwyth Arts Centre with the semi finals on the weekend of 15 and 17 February. The winning choir in each of the five semi finals will compete in the grand final, broadcast live on S4C on Sunday, 14 April.

The shortlisted choirs in the Youth Choirs category are: Aelwyd y Waun Ddyfal Carmarthenshire Secondary Schools Choir; Aelwyd Pantycelyn; Côr Hŷn Glanaethwy.

The Female Choirs are Côr y Wiber; Cantata; Parti Llwchwr; Côr Merched Cymry Llundain.

The Male Voice Choirs are Bois y Waun Ddyfal; Bois Ceredigion; Eschoir – Bois Cymry Llundain; Côr Meibion Rhosllannerchrugog.

Competing in the Mixed Voice Choirs category will be CF1; Tempus; Cywair; Côr Ger y Lli.

And there are five choirs shortlisted in the Children's Choirs category: Côr y Cwm; Côr Plant Heol y March; Côr Ysgol Gerdd Ceredigion; Côr Iau Glanaethwy; Côr Ieuenctid Môn.

Tickets for the five semi-finals will be available from January. Reserve your ticket free of charge by contacting TV company Rondo Media on 029 2022 3456 or

All those who attend the semi-finals will be given priority when applying for tickets for the final on 14 April.

Producer Gwawr Owen of Rondo Media said, “We look forward to our return to the Aberystwyth’s Arts Centre in February for the 2013 competition. It’s a very important event for choirs in Wales and we see the standard rise from year to year. It promises to be another fantastic competition with an electric atmosphere."

Each shortlisted choir will receive a prize of £500 for their performance in the semi finals. A further £500 is up for grabs for the winners in each category and then the category winner will compete in the final for the grand prize of £4,000.

This is the sixth S4C Côr Cymru competition, and the winners of the last competition held in 2011 were mixed choir Côr Cywair, from Newcastle Emlyn. Previous winners are Ysgol Gerdd Ceredigion (2009), Côr Cywair (2007), Serendipity (2005) and Ysgol Gerdd Ceredigion (2003).


More news

Press homepage