Cân i Gymru 2013 Short List


The six songs to reach the Cân i Gymru 2013 Short List have been announced – with a mix of familiar and new talent making it to the top.

According to judges, Lisa Gwilym, Gai Toms, Griff Lynch a Gwilym Dwyfor, the six songs deserving a space on the Cân i Gymru Short List this year are:

Breuddwydion Ceffyl Gwyn by Alun Evans

Ein Tir Na Nóg Ein Hunain by Catrin Herbert

Aur ac Arian by Elin Parisa Fouladi and Ben Dabson

Amser Mynd i'n Gwlâu by Geth Vaughan and Pete Jarvis, which will be performed by Dyfrig Evans

Bywyd Sydyn by Rhydian Gwyn Lewis

and Mynd i Gorwen Hefo Alys by Rhys Gwynfor and Osian Huw Williams, two members of the band Jessop & the Squares.

The six artists have received an allowance of £900 to work with a music studio and producer of their choice to prepare the song for the final.

The songs can be heard at

"It was great to see such a variety of musicians apply this year and many of them artists who are already known on the scene, so it's good that they're taking advantage of this opportunity." Says Lisa Gwilym, a member of this year's judging panel and presenter on C2 Radio Cymru.

"The artists have received £900 each to record their tracks in a studio of their choice so the competition's new set up allows the young musicians to invest in their music and stay true to their own sounds, so to speak.

"I'm happy that there's a good variety in the Short List, there will be many genres on the Cân i Gymru stage this year with something to please everyone – more than a few of the songs have definitely pleased me."

The winner will take home the prize money of £3,500 and will also represent Wales in the Pan Celtic Festival in Ireland.

The contestants will be featured on Heno every night between Thursday 21 and Thursday 28 February so don't forget to watch.

Follow Cân i Gymru on Twitter @canigymru and #cig2013

Cân i Gymru

Friday, 1 March at 8.25 on S4C

More news

Press homepage